Ravings of a medical informatician..

Not that you care about anything he might talk about

Another OpenMRS Milestone…

For a couple of weeks now, I’ve felt particularly good about our progress on OpenMRS, as we’ve *finally* made good on our objective of bringing coders from developing countries into the fold. Honestly, up until recently, I’ve always felt a little disingenuous about our mission as an “open source medical record system for developing countries”, when a large majority of the actual development was taking place in the US and Europe.

Now, we can proudly point to a number of examples of some real, honest to goodness African and developing country coders making real contributions.

For example, take Ime Asangansi, an extremely bright and energetic clinical officer based out of Nigeria who has recently begun a project with me and Tim Cook to create a working prototype that will produce and consume OpenEHR archetypes. This kind of work is not for the faint of heart, believe me, and it’s *inspiring* personally to see someone so passionate about the opportunity to work on this in earnest as one of the inaugural OpenMRS Internship Program’s interns.

Then there’s Sam Ndichu, a young Kenyan who is conceptualizing and leading coding efforts to build a patient tracking module for OpenMRS. These ideas were informed through some work he’s done in the past with clinical environments in Kenya. Ben practically gushes about this guy’s talent and potential, and I know how difficult it is to impress Ben. πŸ˜‰ I’m excited to see what he’ll come up and hope that he’ll step up and take on a leadership role in our public discussion areas.

I’m also excited to see two developers, Abyot Asalefew and Anthony Muyepa take on the strategically important priority of creating a strong interface between OpenMRS and DHIS. I think that this work has a ton of value outside of trickling patient-level data up to an aggregate level reporting system such as DHIS: it’ll likely be the foundation for communicating indicators to the outside world in general. We’re also very pleased to see the DHIS team taking a very active role in their mentorship.

Finally, last but definitely not least, how could I make a blog post without mentioning Daniel Kawiya? Back when Burke and I really put our heart and full commitment into OpenMRS, I think one of the big questions and criticisms of our approach was our assumption that our success was tied to Africans and other developing country contexts taking hold of this project and making it theirs through their active, passionate involvement. We were told by many that this was too unrealistic of an expectation given the circumstances in many of these environments. In retrospect, I even caught myself wondering from time to time if we were too ambitious in our aims?

Daniel has demonstrated to us all in some remarkable ways that we were all wrong in those assumptions. When Burke and I first met Daniel back a couple of years ago, that symbolized for me a turning point for this project. It seems like at almost every meeting or get together that we have in Africa, that Daniel knocks us all out of our seats with a remarkable bit of code, or insight as to how to make OpenMRS a better piece of software. A couple of months ago, for example, he independently wrote code which enables XForms functionality in OpenMRS, and just sprung it upon us at an international meeting. He’ll likely single-handedly demonstrate to the rest of the community how we can move forward with alternatives to InfoPath for data collection. This is likely the most requested feature from end users.

He’s in fact become so invested in the OpenMRS work that he’s taken it on as his full time endeavor recently. I can’t tell you how important of a milestone this was for me personally, because in Daniel I see the future of health information for Africa. His humble, yet commanding presence is such an empowering example to the likely thousands of other Africans who are wondering to themselves: “do I have what it takes to make a difference in the HIV crisis?”. His commitment to this work definitely helps gets me out of bed to work on the project. πŸ™‚

We’re committed to seeing more and more new developers come and take part in this initiative. I want you all out there to make the guys who have gotten this project started obsolete! Nothing would make me prouder than for OpenMRS to evolve to a place where I need to step aside, as it becomes more and more led by those who will be using it on a daily basis. So, from my perspective, these examples are another milestone towards this goal.

Powered by ScribeFire.

January 18, 2008 - Posted by | Google, Informatics, Medicine, open source, OpenMRS

4 Comments »

  1. Great post Paul, and many congratulations. As you know I strongly agree with you on this topic. For projects to be sustainable, they need to have local experts, and so many do not. It is great to see the list grow, and so awesome to hear that Daniel is now a full timer.

    I used to think that Java would be a barrier for African developers to get involved, as it is not widely taught here. Now I just think that Java is a barrier…period! πŸ˜‰

    Seriously, though, I am excited to see what Jruby and Grails can add to OpenMRS – I expect a lot more developers and a lot more features. Keep up the great work!

    Comment by Mike McKay | January 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks for sharing the nice post with me, an
    cheap abercrombie uk,

    girl who firmly follows the fashion trend,
    It really brings me some fresh feelings with addtional insights into today’s world.

    Comment by l | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  3. We meet in the night in the Spanish cafe , we give a hug for each other with pleasure, at that moment, how i wish come with U and stay with U forever,
    NFL JERSEYS,

    this is forever!

    Comment by l | January 10, 2010 | Reply

  4. I am very glad I found your blog on bebo. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my girlfriend were just preparing to do some research about this. I am glad to see such trusted information being shared for free out there.
    Best wishes,
    Breton from Jackson city

    Comment by Alix | February 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

